Fall Fest – Recipe #2 – Stupid Easy Donuts

27 Oct

I always thought that making donuts at home would be an messy, time-consuming, disappointing endeavor.  

Turns out, my waist-size was in a much better place because of this false belief.

This past weekend (henceforth known as Fall Fest weekend) I made donuts at home using a recipe I’d stumbled onto on good ol’ Pinterest.  My personal donut belief system came crumbling down around me in a pile of hot fluffy frycakes.

As far as that recipe…

Guess how many ingredients?  3.  

Guess how many steps? 3.

Guess how delicious?  CRAZY.  

Uhg.  Surely you can see how bad of news this is you guys?  Aj least before there was effort (real or assumed) between me and my high-calorie addiction.  Now – I got nothin.  Except of course, the ability to take all of you down with me;)

Stupid Easy Donuts

Recipe originally from How Does She?

Ingredients:

  • Refrigerated biscuit dough* (I think I bought the flaky, I think it’s not ‘sposed to be.  My tastebuds didn’t mind.)
  • Vegetable oil
  • Glaze and/or sprinkles

Directions:

  1. Separate the biscuits, cut a hole in each biscuit (I used a pop bottle top but anything of that size will due), and save the holes.  Come on people, I didn’t really need to add that last part right? (timbits anyone!?)
  2. Pour vegetable oil into a large frying pan to 1/2 in. depth. Heat on high for about 5 minutes (watch it carefully – last thing any of us need is a hot oil explosion!), then turn down to medium or medium low (depending on the hotness of your stovetop).
  3. Use a hole to test the readiness of the oil, when set in it should begin to bubble and cook immediately (too cool=sinks and does nada, too hot=instant browning party).  Once your oil is all set, cook up all your donuts, for about 20 seconds per side, or until they turn light golden brown.  Fish out with a fork and place on a drying rack over a cookie sheet to cool off a bit before glazing**.
*If you’re not a lazy bones like me perhaps you’d like to try this recipe with homemade biscuit dough.  That would be particularly brilliant if you still send me the pics and let me use them here so I can continue being a lazy bones.  K, thanks!
**We used a simple glaze recipe for ours along with some snazzy Halloween sprinkles.  I recommend sprinkling, as opposed to dipping in jimmies, which will result in, dare-I-say-it?, sprinkle overload!  And in case you’re wondering…

Simple Glaze

1/2 tsp Salt

3 cups confectioners’ sugar

1 tsp. vanilla extract

1/2 cup cold water

Whisk all ingredients together until all the sugar is dissolved.  Add water or confectioners’ sugar until the glaze is a nice dippable and drippable consistency.
Now kids, I don’t have to end this post convincing you how delicious these are right?  Because, hello, they’re fresh, hot donuts.  Surely we’re all on the same page there right?  Yeah, thought so!

One Response to “Fall Fest – Recipe #2 – Stupid Easy Donuts”

  1. Eliza October 27, 2011 at 5:06 pm #

    Looks yummy Mrs. Webb!!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

