Bottom of the Barrel – Bruegger’s Bagels

6 Apr

Yeah, that’s right, no Top of the Heap today – let’s blame it on the gray schmuckussy weather – must be putting wif in this rotten mood!  Anyways- bottom of the barrel today goes to …

Bruegger’s Bagels

Or, more specifically, to their blueberry and cinnamon raisin bagels.

Until today, it had been at least a year since I’d visited Bruegger’s.  Why you ask? Because the last time I went I had a blueberry bagel that didn’t have a SINGLE blueberry in it. I suppose it was sort of dyed bluish, but there wasn’t a bit of anything sweet or blueberry-ie in the whole dang thing.  And you know what – I had sour grapes.  So I complained. Via customer service email.  And guess what kind of a resolution I got?  Zippo, not even a measly email response.  So I didn’t go back, for a very, very long time.

But then today I decided to grab a bagel, after class, on my way to get groceries.  (You know –  spend a couple bucks on a bite to eat before grocery shopping – save $50 at the store by not hunger-buying.)  I really wanted blueberry, but I knew better and wasn’t in the mood for disappointment.  So I stuck with the basics – cinnamon raisin.  Big mistake! I’m telling you… sad times!  Again – not a SINGLE raisin, zilch.  Not only that, but no cinnamon really either, not even the teensiest sweet zippiness.  In fact, I think it tasted more like onion (maybe in the bag next to those?) than anything!  Sure, the texture was fine, and the light cream cheese did it’s job…  But for $2.50 don’t you kinda expect something better than you’d drop out of a bag of frozen bagels?  Uhg.

Yeah… I still ate it – I was starving… and remember the cost of grocery shopping was on the line.  At the end of the day though, I sure wish I could have my two and a half buck and 500 calories back!!  To spend on ice cream of course!  So there, I’m done ranting now – go in peace.

*Disclaimer* Yes, I know there are worse things in the world than a bad bagel, and I know I’m lucky to even have money to buy a bagel, and yes, I even say the world incorrectly like a true Rochestarian. So sue me. But keep in mind – maybe I’m doing the world a favor – you know – saving them from bad bagels (and wasting 500 calories on something – meh.)

2 Responses to “Bottom of the Barrel – Bruegger’s Bagels”

  1. leah April 6, 2010 at 11:07 pm #

    oh tessah. you make me laugh! you think the same way i do in a lot of situations u write about. ur funny :)

  2. drmike September 30, 2010 at 3:01 pm #

    Bruegger’s doesn’t respond to emailed customer complaints. I got physically and verbally assaulted by a multi state operations manager a few months back when I pointed that out to him. That was two months ago. Not a peep out of their corporate.

    Some of the worse customer service ever.

    Gotta admit though, you’re blogging on wordpress.com. They’re not much better either.

Leave a Reply

