Homemade Veggie Burgers – And Joy, Sweet Joy

7 May

Hello darlings!  This is probably as happy as I felt in four score years or something.  I took my last final yesterday and I’m officially halfway through my master’s program.  Plus, I already know I got an A in one of my most rage-inducing classes.  Plus, it’s Jer and I’s 8 year anniversary today.  Plus, we got approved for our mortgage yesterday.  Plus, I got to snuggle with my puppy *and* count my blessings in bed this morning.  Ahhhhhh  – life is good!

So to celebrate… let them eat veggie burgers!  My baby girl Kara generously shared this recipe with me after she made them for me a bit ago.  They are too delicious, too flavorful, too wholesome and too healthy for words!   So what are you waiting for – whip some up tonight!!

Kare’s All Goodness Veggie Burgers

Ingredients

  • 1 can black beans
  • 1/2 green pepper finely chopped (a little chopper is great for all this chopping business)
  • 1/2 onion finely chopped
  • 2 cloves of garlic finely chopped
  • 1 or 2 carrots finely chopped
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tablespoon chili powder
  • 1 tablespoon cumin
  • 1 teaspoon hot sauce
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1/2-3/4 cup oats or bread crumbs
  • 1/2 cup ( or  more) shredded cheese

Directions

  1. Mash the black beans
  2. Add all the chopped veggies and cheese
  3. Mix together the egg, spices, and hot sauce  and then add to black bean mixture.
  4. Add oats or bread crumbs.
  5. Shape mixture into patties and sauté on medium heat until hot throughout and slightly crisped on sides.
  6. Top with sour cream mixed with lime zest/juice (Tessah substitution: plain greek yogurt for sour cream – MMMMM!) and *delight in the deliciousness*.

Get excited about far more (and more wonderful) blogging over the next few days – wif is in her happy place!

Love love love you all!

2 Responses to “Homemade Veggie Burgers – And Joy, Sweet Joy”

  1. Jusel January 24, 2011 at 10:52 pm #

    Tessah,

    I tried this recipe, and I loved it! I’m not even vegetarian.

    P.S. Who knew greek yogurt could be such a good substitute for sour cream? So good.

    Thanks for the recipes! Keep up the good work!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Livin’ the Good (Veggie) Life: Dinner Listing « Baking Life By The Horns - November 20, 2010

    […] black bean burgers.  I gotchu baby.  But again, with the beans! […]

Leave a Reply

