Where I’m From

29 Jul

If you don’t already know me… after this poem you will.  An exercise we did in my arts integration class – incredibly personal and moving.   I’d highly recommend you create one of your own!

Where I’m From

I am from Barbies, My Little Ponies, footsies and Mary Kay extra emollient night cream.

Where now I lay me down to sleep and clean your plate but what’s for da?

From shiny hardwood and tile, the smell of oil soap and Vaseline.

I am from the big, open, wooden and clean.

(Where Santa and the Easter Bunny live.)


I’m from big maple trees and little vegetable gardens.

From treehouses, homemade swing sets the pool and endless story books.

I am from reduce, reuse and recycle,

from waste not want not, and jars scraped to get that very last drop.


I am from Bermuda, Bahama, come on pretty mama,

from snow painted by food coloring-filled Windex bottles.

I’m from a hill where the truck doesn’t see the dog crossing the street.

The sound like a paper bag crushed by a speeding vehicle.

And I had been worried about wearing my shiny shoes.


I’m from unconditional love and careful organization, a humble servant’s heart and Easter egg hunts.

Fastened together by John, Sue, Tyler and even Tipper then Lucy.

I am from every dinner together,

and warm happy laps to climb onto.

Where the church is big and white and proper.


I suppose I’m from Ouderkirk too,

The Dutch town, so provincial with its namesake church on the water.

Or from Strong, where arriving is grand,

but returning is quite frightening.


But mostly I am from muffin cups full of tiny treats and anticipation.

I am here now, still with them, the glue, and now with Jer too.

Shiny memories packed into an overflowing cherry armoire.

Made up of all those tea parties and can we please play dress up?

Pretend places, coloring a very real world.


2 Responses to “Where I’m From”

  1. Basia July 29, 2010 at 11:31 pm #

    That is an absolutely beautiful painting of a lovely woman’s heart. Thank you for sharing that! Hugs!

    • twebby August 5, 2010 at 11:14 am #

      :) Thanks for the feedback. Laying stuff like that (and makeuplessness – eeps! out there is scary – you’re warmth makes it bearable:)

Leave a Reply

