LISTEN TO THE MUSTN’TS

31 Jul

I planted a garden at the end of June. I planted everything way to close together.  And I surrounded it with a 3 foot fence. And I used flimsy wire tomato cages. I got soooo much “it’s too late, they’ll never make it!” “those tomatoes will definitely tip over the cages and break and die,” “you’re soil is way too sandy for a vegetable garden”, and a healthy serving of “the deer are going to laugh at your fence.”

Well guess who spotted their first baby cutie cucumber today! Take that haters! And in honor of that adorable vegetable... A poem from my childhood that is a great way to live:

Listen to the MUSTN’TS, child.

Listen to the DON’TS

Listen to the SHOULDN’TS

The IMPOSSIBLES, the WON’TS

Listen to the NEVER HAVES

Then listen close to me—

Anything can happen, child,

ANYTHING can be.

– Shel Silverstein

Update 08/14/2010: The deer have annihilated most all of my garden.  The squash have 0 leaves, the tomatoes look to be surviving and the cukes could go either way.  Juries out on everything else… Guess I should have listened to the mustn’ts. Welp… at least that was probably a yummo meal for the freakin’ deer.  Bah.

Leave a Reply

