Hip Hip Hooray – A Giveaway!

2 Sep

We have a weeeennnerrr!

After seriously racking my brain, employing Microsoft OneNote in numbering ‘legal’ entries, figuring out random.org and even making my very own handy dandy Giveaway form with google docs – the big moment has finally arrived!  Of course – a gigundo thank you to everyone who shared my blog and left great feedback – I *so* appreciate it!

Our winner is… comment numero 2:

Miss Leah!

I’ve sent you the fancy schmancy form – submit it and the loverly apron will be on its way to you!  Xoxo!

Dearest Faithful Followers (and random passerbys!),

Hip hip hooray!  Today is the day!  I’m hosting my very first giveaway!!! And because we all know baking is my favoristest thing and laundry is most certainly not – how about an *adorable* retro (lemon pattern) apron that will save that cutie white Crew tank that you just got on clearance!

Hubs made very minimal effort on the photo taking, so you may choose between blurry- and darkness:

Hubs was also terribly concerned that wif looked nekie under there so he was careful to not include the bottom of the apron or wif’s short-clad legs.  Just trust me that it’s cute and ends pretty close to where the photos stop.  And thank hubby for the incredible photo-takin’ skills;)

And since I love you all so much – I’m giving you lots of chances to win – and no limit on entries!   You can:

  • Dream up something you’d like me to whip up and share (or review)
  • Subscribe to my RSS feed (since I don’t really know how to check this – be sure to comment so I know you’ve done so!)
  • Tweet (or facebook or blog!) about this contest with a link

And after you’ve done so – just leave me a little comment about it and voila – you’re entered!  If you do more than one, be sure to leave each as a separate comment so you get all the chances you deserve!

This contest will run through midnight (eastern time if you want to be difficult;]) on Wednesday, September 8th, 2010.  On Thursday I’m going to try my darndest to figure out random.org and post, right here, the lucky ducky winner who will have this cutie apron mailed right to their doorstep!

If  you’re that lucky ducky winner- you’ll be notified via the email you provide so be sure to keep an eye out so you can respond with your address within 3 days:)

Good luck kiddos!

xoxo, Mama Wif

32 Responses to “Hip Hip Hooray – A Giveaway!”

  1. Jordan P September 3, 2010 at 6:56 am #

    Please please please whip up something delicious with pumpkin! I have a fall/early Halloween party coming up in October and I know I want to use pumpkin to cook a dessert… but am stumped for what exactly to do! I loved your day at the beach cupcakes, and I feel like something like that but more Halloweenie would be perfect.

    • twebby September 3, 2010 at 7:34 am #

      Hi Jordan! Thanks for stopping by:) I love your idea for a pumpkiny party dessert – but before I go to pumpkintown on it – have you checked out my pumpkin patch cupcakes: https://twebby.wordpress.com/2009/10/02/sugaroverload/ ? If those don’t float your boat just let me know and we’ll whip something else up:)

  2. Leah September 3, 2010 at 2:30 pm #

    okey doke. number 1. how do i subscribe to your RSS feed? i dont even know what that is. number 2. what link do i put in my facebook post? i would like to win so i want to do this as many times as possible :) let me know please. thanks babe!

  3. Leah September 3, 2010 at 2:33 pm #

    ok i think i figured it out. i posted one to facebook. check it out. does that count as an entry? hope so. entry number 2: can you try to whip up a “Buckeye Cupcake”? I live in Columbus Ohio and the Ohio State Buckeyes are a HUGE deal here. They find their way into recipes all over the place. It’s mostly a chocolate-peanut butter recipe with some sort of buckeye nut looking thing that is basically just a peanut butter ball that’s covered in chocolate but a little spot of the peanut butter is still showing on it to make it look like a nut. does that make any sense at all?

    • twebby September 3, 2010 at 4:48 pm #

      Leah! You’re such a good little blog-follower I love it! Since the way I’m choosing a winner is based on post number – be sure to post one more time if you did indeed figure out how to follow via RSS feed:) Right now you’re in with 2 chances (bc of 2 comments) regarding a new recipe idea and the facebook shout out (thanks!).

      I love the buckeye cupcake idea – I’ve made boring ol’ (but crazy delicious) buckeyes for several Christmas’ but a buckeye cupcake – pure genius! I’m all over it!

      Again – thanks for being so dedicated – you’re wonderful!

      • Leah September 3, 2010 at 8:26 pm #

        well, i figured out the facebook blog shout out thing. i did not yet figure out how to follow the RSS feed thing. i actually dont even know what that is. mind if you enlighten me? :) thanks.

      • twebby September 3, 2010 at 10:25 pm #

        So Jer says you can click the RSS feed on the top right part of my page and see the stripped down version of what I write. I’m not really sure what the point of that is (he says it runs faster and I say who cares)? So maybe try clicking on the subscribe by email button part way down on the right side. This technology mumbo jumbo gots me in over my head!

        And now you’re all set with three comments/entries – nice work!

  4. Leah September 3, 2010 at 10:44 pm #

    i dont really get the RSS thing. i found it. and clicked on it. and saved it as a bookmark favorite or whatever…? im still confused. oh well.

    so.. everytime i post a comment, it counts as an entry? is this correct? cuz i’ll just post away. all day. every day. until wednesday. haha. let me know so i dont post for no reason and just annoy the snot out of you lol.

    • Leah September 3, 2010 at 10:45 pm #

      well technically… i “subscribed” to the RSS feed. not just saved it as a bookmark favorite. is that what im supposed to do?

      • Leah September 8, 2010 at 8:16 pm #

        ‘nother great idea!! How about you give a LESSON on cooking/baking?? You seem to be the master at both. Is it really just following a bunch of steps on a recipe card? Or is there more involved? I, myself, have no idea. The most I’ve ever cooked is macaroni and the most I’ve ever baked is a boxed chocolate cake. I feel like I have nothing to offer Justin once we tie the knot when it comes to my kitchen skills!! He LOVES cooking. I thoroughly enjoy his meals and inventions, but I am still a little bit old fashion in the sense that I think it is a wife’s job to cook for her husband. I want to be able to provide him dinner! or dessert at least!! I’d love any bit of advice :)

  5. Oyin September 7, 2010 at 2:23 pm #

    I’m subscribed to your blog, AND twitter, and without needing a giveaway to get me there. I should get bonus entry points :)

  6. Oyin September 7, 2010 at 2:25 pm #

    I think you should make strawberry shortcake, unless you have already. I know it’s simple but it’s one of my favorite desserts, and I bet you could find a cool recipe that gives it a fun twist.

  7. Oyin September 7, 2010 at 2:26 pm #

    Also, I think you should practice whipping up Beignets – they’re a fun treat and I think you’d especially enjoy the powdered sugar on top :)

  8. Leah September 8, 2010 at 8:21 pm #

    also. just because I’m currently hungry. for sugar. (oh wait… that’s all the time. every minute. of every day.) and I crave ice cream and cake like it’s my job. How about you combine the two greatest sweet treats and make an ice cream cake? Ever made one? Ya know… like the ones that Carvel sells (my personal fave.) Or Dairy Queen. Which… technically there is no cake in those. Just a delicious layer of yummy oreo cookie-type crumbs in the middle. I wouldn’t be opposed to either way tho (actual cake in the middle, or yummy oreo crumbs.) Just a thought…

    p.s. I posted this on facebook one last time to bring ur blog attention. for what it’s worth :) (i don’t have twitter. i have yet to succumb to the pressure to cave in.)

  9. Susan September 8, 2010 at 8:29 pm #

    Well, I subscribe to you! I’d like to see you post something that really challenges you…cream puffs? By the way, I’m an apron freak. This one is cute!!

  10. Traci :) September 8, 2010 at 8:59 pm #

    I think I just posted a comment on twitter not sure though! Also I think I subscribe already

    • Traci :) September 8, 2010 at 9:11 pm #

      Ok now I’m subscribed! I thought I was before but now I definitely am! :)

  11. Stevie September 8, 2010 at 9:49 pm #

    I want you to make… macarons? (Not coconut American whatevers… the multicolored French-style). I’ve been wanting to try, but am to chicken/lack an adequate mixer. Or chocolate disco cookies – also something I’ve been wanting to make, but I might not share the recipe because… CHOCOLATE DISCO COOKIES. Self explanatory.

    I already subscribe to you. You’re all up in my Google reader. All up in it.

    And I *totally* just tweeted it. Because Tessah blog giveaways > stats homework (look, I’m doing math, does it count?)

    Or for that matter… Tessah > stats homework.

    Yes, yes I am resorting to flattery. Do I win yet? ;)

  12. Stevie September 8, 2010 at 9:52 pm #

    Hold the phone now, I think I just put all of my eggs in one basket. Three posts for three things? Sorry I was multi-tasking and put them all in one. Bonus points? ;)

  13. Kate September 8, 2010 at 9:53 pm #

    Hi Love!!

    So obviously I love you and your blog!! I just subscribed to your RSS feed or whatever!! I hope I did this right!

  14. Leah September 8, 2010 at 9:56 pm #

    well, I see 3 more posts. So I’m going to post 3 more times :) (Can you tell i’m competitive?)

    I don’t necessarily want to challenge you to the point where it won’t be fun for you in the kitchen. But do you know what would be fun? Cakes in the shapes of faces! Then you can decorate the cakes to look like you and jer! or.. whoever you want. but i just think that would be super fun. like i said, not difficult in the process of making a cake. you’ve done that a million times. but i find decorating to be OH so fun and i think decorating a cake to look like me or my man would be a fun time in the kitchen. maybe even a husband-wife experience? is that pushing it? haha

  15. Katie September 8, 2010 at 9:56 pm #

    Ok I didn’t even put down the right name the first time I entered, so here we go again. P.S. I just tweeted about it! :)

  16. Stevie September 8, 2010 at 9:56 pm #

    Ooooh baby give me one more chance… won’t you please let me… win that apron?

    I am singing/spamming you! What has this world come to?

  17. Leah September 8, 2010 at 9:59 pm #

    another…

    do you know how to make chicken enchiladas? or chimichangas? i’ve been craving those for a few weeks now. homemade, obviously. not taco-bell style. and i was thinking, since fall is in the air and leaves are already starting to turn… is there a way to incorporate all of the fall colors into the dish to make it not only taste delicious, but to make it LOOK just as beautiful and suiting for the season? reds, oranges, yellows, browns, some greens…
    just a random idea. sounds yummy tho.

  18. Leah September 8, 2010 at 10:04 pm #

    last one (maybe…)

    continuing on the theme of fall (am i starting too early…? should we hold onto summer just a little bit longer..?) since you made such a beautiful lattice pie top the other week, how about a new idea for a pie? cinnamon. not necessarily apple cinnamon. but just a cinnamon pie of sorts. cinnamon is one of my favorite flavors period, and it’s perfect for fall time. so.. i challenge you. a cinnamon pie that doesn’t involve apples.

  19. Katie September 8, 2010 at 10:04 pm #

    Wow this is getting a ton of hits, so I will apply one more time (please hit me baby one more time).

    I would LOVE for you to make biscotti. It is something I have tried to make a few times now and it always ends up being too crunchy. Maybe we can make some at your place this month? I will bring some Finger Lakes Roaster coffee too!!

  20. Leah September 8, 2010 at 10:09 pm #

    I LOVE TESSAH WEBB! and i do miss you. wish we still lived in the same state. which actually… i dont know if we ever lived in the same state at the same time at any point after we actually knew eachother. wow that was a lot of prepositional phrases in a row. it makes sense in my head. despite my spamming your blog, i do hope all is well with you. maybe next time i visit buffalo, we can meet somewhere in the middle! it’s not too far away. right?

    does this count? :) (im getting desperate)

  21. Leah September 9, 2010 at 7:53 pm #

    i’m so excited!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! yay!! thanks tessah!!!!!!!!!! i don’t think i’ve ever won anything! woo hoo!!

    • twebby September 9, 2010 at 8:10 pm #

      yay leah!! i emailed you:) didja get it?

      • Leah September 9, 2010 at 8:13 pm #

        i did! i already filled out the form :) :) :)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Hip Hip Hooray – A Giveaway « Baking Life By The Horns -- Topsy.com - September 2, 2010

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Tessah Webb, Tessah Webb. Tessah Webb said: Hip Hip Hooray – A Giveaway: http://wp.me/pDCqc-lE […]

  2. Big Fail: Fall Pies « Baking Life By The Horns - November 11, 2010

    […] Whatever, you know what I mean!  I was trying to whip something up that met two requests from my giveaway post, a cinnamon dessert (not cinnamon apple etc., just straight up cinnamon) and something that was […]

Leave a Reply

