The Smell of Heaven

16 Nov

Something about the smell of baking vanilla cupcakes, wafting through the air, quickens my pulse and warms my heart.  I’m assuming everyone out there agrees, no?

Found out today that one of the girls in my grad class has her birthday is tomorrow.  So obv. I hurried home to bust out some quick and easy semi-homemade cupcakes (sorry – no tablescapes Miss Sandra Lee) for her special day.  And by that I mean…. I’ll take just about any excuse I can get to eat some cake batter and fill the house with that luscious aroma.  In fact, I’m relatively confident it’s exactly what heaven will smell like.  (Side note – how have they not come up with a vanilla cupcake perfume yet?  Someone get on that.  Or if I’m just out of the loop – just go ahead and send me some – I’ll love you forever.)

To frost, just pull some of your various colored buttercream out of the freezer and let thaw in the fridge til its a nice texture before giving a quick whip with the Kitchenaid.

Wait, you don’t all have an extra freezer stocked with every possible hue of buttercream.  Je ne comprendre?  Aussi, je d’esole.  Well in that case – I guess you’d better make some up while your yummy cuppycakes bake!  I gotchu covered with a speedy/ no-fail recipe here.

Test your patience while they cool… frost, and then sprinkle away!

Load ’em into your all-time fave double decker tip-over free zone carrier and skip to class, full of sugar, joy and love to share!

PS: If you’re reading this, Happy Birthday Miss Carlie! Hope you like yer cuppycakes!

3 Responses to “The Smell of Heaven”

  1. Leah November 16, 2010 at 11:53 pm #

    ya know tess. i really wish we were friends. i mean like… friends that lived near eachother. cuz, altho this sounds really selfish… i wish i had a friend like u! ur always looking to do nice things for people, and u make cupcakes for people on their birthdays! ive never had anyone make cupcakes for me on my birthday! it may sound like a simple act, but i’d die of happiness and appreciation if someone surprised me with cupcakes on my birthday! ur such a swell person :)

  2. Oyin November 17, 2010 at 12:01 pm #

    these pics are beeee-you-tif-ul! they look so festive and warm. why don’t i live in new york!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Thankful Notes and Puppy Feasts « Baking Life By The Horns - November 17, 2010

    […] Actually, to be more specific, Aslan really loves momma’s homemade buttercream. And we found out by him eating about 3 cups of pink buttercream right off the tops of yesterday’s little birthday beauties… […]

Leave a Reply

