Herbivore Meets Carnivore

18 Nov

As we head into a season of generally flesh-centered meals in America, I want to share something that’s close to my heart…

Save the turkeys!

And by that I mean, I’m a happy, healthy veggie who’ll be forgoing the dead bird on Thanksgiving and the poor piggie on Christmas…

Don’t worry – I’m not judging you…  The proof is in the pudding. Nope, not piggy pudding (ew!), I mean pudding = hubs.  Hubs the carnivore.  We’ve been together for more than 8 years, married/cohabitating for 2.5.

Wondering how I could stand buying/preparing meat when I’m so morally opposed to the inhumane treatment of animals on factory farms?  Came down to 3 points:

  • I was that sucker who bought the boneless, skinless, no-touchie required chicken breasts.
  • Whenever possible I stuck to organic/locally raised meats.
  • Most importantly, I had an epiphany during our engagement, when I was really struggling with how Jer could still enjoy meat so much when he knew how foul I find the whole situation.  The Lord gently reminded me how much more strongly I feel about Jer than any other ‘worldly’ love.  I may be a crazy animal lover, but you can bet your bottom dollar that I’d even consume an icky hunk of beef if Jer’s life depended on it (hooray that it will never come to that!).  And, at the end of the day, it’s not my stubborn refusal to make my hubby happy that will bring him to the light (of vegetarianism!).  In quotie words – a spoonful of honey will catch more flies than a gallon of vinegar.

Now, we’re at a good place in our lives where he eats meat when we go out, or at family get-togethers, and in his lunch (turkey sandwich every darn day), but dinners are pretty much 100% meat-free.

Why am I telling you all this? So I can share lots of speedy, easy, delish meat-free meals of course!   Veggie meals on the fly coming soon! Until then, lots of furry (and feathery), friendly, hugs and kisses!

One Response to “Herbivore Meets Carnivore”

  1. Leah November 19, 2010 at 12:13 pm #

    SOON!!! im so excited! cuz im attempting to do the vegan route… and im gonna need to do it in steps. so.. meat out first. and i need good meal ideas for the bf! although, im just as much a meatlover as he is, but… i recently read the book “skinny bitch” (it doesnt count as cussing if its a book title, right?) and man o man did that open my eyes. so… eventually, no animal at all. but until then.. im gonna try to quit the meat. im excited to hear all ur great ideas!!

Leave a Reply

