Mother of All Wreathes

9 Dec

That title phrase is legit.  The beaut was borne out of an overambitious mind, a deep-seated passion for glitter, and the loving support of two gorgeous friends and one fly husband.

True story.

Also we were both thrify and environmentally friendly (sort-of).  We used our old (non-deep-preventative) 1 ft. plastic coated wire garden fence to make the frame.

For free!  Bonus points!!

We just twisted it up (think rolling a sleeping bag),

Then we clipped the end side a bit, giving us lots of clamping opportunities:

After we had our little crepe-roll style tube o’ wire – we just made it a circle and repeated the cutting and linking (with some overlap to make it sturdier).

Another beautiful aspect – it’s not very heavy (well at least pre-many decorations it wasn’t.)

Then there was some shaping action… just to bend the wires to adequate wreath formedness.

That’s it!  Thats all you need to do to make a killer, customizable, green (literally and eco-wise;]) and FREE wreath form.  Toldja it was glorious!

Here’s some more mundane details:

For the greenerizing, I used four 6 ft. faux pine garlands (including pine cones – jackpot!) that were 50% off = $8 each.  ($32 total)

Then the girls got their work out it by hoss-ing up the beast for a quick photo sesh:

Then I wrapped that bad boy like a glowin’ candy cane! With 2 small boxes of $4 white lights from Home Depot. ($8 total)

And then there was the ornament debacle:

Originally I went with big and beautiful ornaments from Tarjay.  Which promptly exploded in my hands.  Turns out glass ornaments are just a generally awful idea.

Ended up doing  a bit more hunting and finding sucess with 5 Dollar Tree sparklers and a pack of 6 big shiny silver guys from Big Lots ($10 for the 6 pack).

I did keep 2 gorgeous and (cheapo) vintage ones from Tarjay – but not of the glass variety.  At first their healthy size (3 3/4 inch diameter I believe) made me nervous.  ($21 ornaments)

But paired with a giant (sparkle party) bow from Big Lots for 4 bones (well 8 really – since I bought 2 – gots to look lovely from the outside!) I think they look pretty rockin’.  And hopefully everyone driving by does too! ($8 total)

So our grand total for the massive (in size only – not really effort) project hovers around 70 buckaroos.  And since I’m counting on a lifetime of ‘forever’ I’d say that’s a pretty great deal.

And from the outside!

Thanks for following me on my quest to capture a beast of a wreath – hope you enjoyed yourself!

PS:) On a side, non-holiday note, I discovered caramel on the bottom yogurt today.  Best invention EVER.  Especially when it has live stuff in it.  Stuff with multi-syllabic names. Terrifyingly necessary – let’s not get into details.

7 Responses to “Mother of All Wreathes”

  1. leah December 9, 2010 at 12:48 am #

    your craftiness leaves me speechless. literally. you are the modern day suzy homemaker. jared’s a lucky man.

    • twebby December 20, 2010 at 9:29 am #

      Haha Leah, you must not have read my post on what we eat for dinners around here. Suzy would be ashamed;)

  2. Megan December 9, 2010 at 8:54 am #

    Looks soo pretty Tessah! How/what did you hang it from?

    • twebby December 20, 2010 at 9:27 am #

      We precariously attached it to the curtain pole dealie that the prev. owner left here for that window. Which I refuse to cover because I *need* sunlight. It’s bending a bit under the weight, but the couch is doing its part to support it too:)

  3. oyin December 9, 2010 at 11:49 am #

    HOW do you come up with this stuff?!?! Miss Martha Stewart, your craftiness and creativity never cease to amaze me! It’s beautiful! Whenever I get settled I’m hiring you as my decorator!

    • twebby December 20, 2010 at 9:28 am #

      Ummm yes please!! Count me in! I make no guarantees about how it will look but I guarantee we’ll have a good time:) Also = excuse to visit!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The halls are decked. « Baking Life By The Horns - December 20, 2010

    […] Mother of all wreathes. Detailed here.  Costed about $70.  Should last foreverish. Count […]

Leave a Reply

