Lucky Ducky

16 Dec

A sign of the times: I’m blogging 23 minutes into my birthday.  I know, it’s hard to believe that I’m not out partying my face off – but thus is life;)

And you know what?  I wouldn’t have it any other way…

Here’s why 24 is most excellent thus far:

  1. 33 second graders sang their very own version of Happy Birthday to me today. In rounds.  As in Row, Row, Row Your Boat-style rounds.  Superb is an understatement.
  2. After the riveting choral performance, countless hugs by tiny bodies ensued.
  3. Amidst the hugging one little girl begged (I don’t use that word lightly – I mean it.) me to take her home with her.  And you know what? I kinda wanted to.
  4. One little boy latched on and while not letting go after all reasonable amounts of time had passed he tried his darndest to make me promise to come back tomorrow.  Bearing cake.  Apparently the little snowflakes and pencils we’d brought them for our last day wasn’t enough.  Which I can totally understand – cake is a prereq. to any and all events in life.
  5. I’m done with grad classes. As of today.  Well kind of, if we’re not counting my management class/student teaching or capstone.  Naw, those hugely important things def. don’t count.
  6. More time to blog! Some time off = catching up on lots of overdue excitement.  Ie – cream puffs, kitchen redos, and other terribly important things I simply cannot remember at the moment.
  7. Loves coming home for Christmas! Getting to see a few of my fave people who live far too far away.  Total perk of a December bday.
  8. Jer took me to Moe’s to celebrate. And then let me pick out a birthday outfit.  Which does not equal birthday suit.  Think much cuter, and involving a shimmery, goldy/champagne ruched pencil skirt and… wait for it – A SEQUINED MOUSE EAR SWEATER.  I know right?
  9. I have wonderful and beautiful friends. Around the country.  And the world (Sanna!).  We might not all talk every day, but you better believe I still love em’ outrageously.  Thanks guys.
  10. Yesterday, one of my host teachers told me I should go into baking as a career. Not sure if that was a compliment or not?  Either way I glowed.
  11. I’m going to Lento tomorrow for dinner. Eating my own beliefs.  And I’m darned thrilled about it.
  12. I’m done painting the lower section of the bathroom vanity. Yup, it’s a reason this year of life will be splendid.  Started it 3 months ago, first coat went on 2 months ago and second through fifthish coats went on today.  Talk about hanging over my head!  And no, I’m not sure how many coats it actually took, somewhere between 4 and 6.  Blame it on the fumes.  Or the sheer multitude.  Or my aging brain.  But fun fact: you can wrap wet paint brushes, (completely forget about them for 2 months), and then use them again!  Score.
  13. We’re making fondue on Friday.  Of the cheese and chocolate variety.  Melted cheese.  And melted chocolate.  And delicious things to dip in it.  Ahhhhh.
  14. We went to Aladdin’s on Sunday to celebrate early. Sure, a lot of my joy focuses around food.  But let’s note that the company has been top notch too:)
  15. The guy sleeping next to me.  Snoring oh so lightly. Yup, he’s made a lot of my years pretty incredible.  8.6 of them to be exact.

21 brought marriage and our first apartment, 22 brought us back to NY, our 2nd apartment,  a bachelors degree and grad school, 23 brought buying our first home and making our 4th move in 2 years…  Wonder what the Lord has in store for 24?!

I’m pretty confident its gonna be great (and maybe a little messy with a touch of absurd)- wanna come along for the ride?

6 Responses to “Lucky Ducky”

  1. oyin December 16, 2010 at 1:23 am #

    happy happy birthday my dear! praise God for all He’s doing in your life and all that’s yet to come!

    p.s. – PLEASE take a picture of that outfit missy. faraway friends need to see!

    • twebby December 20, 2010 at 9:25 am #

      Thanks darling! I think a few pictures were taken – now I just need to hunt them down;)

  2. Traci December 16, 2010 at 8:44 am #

    I so wanna come along for the ride so count me in! Happy birthday!

    • twebby December 20, 2010 at 9:25 am #

      Heck yes walking/doggie/baking/life buddy:) Love you traceface:)

  3. Leah December 16, 2010 at 11:11 am #

    happy birthday, little lady!
    ya know, as much as you are probably lucky to have a guy like jared, cuz he does sound pretty swell, jared is such a lucky guy to have you. your attitude and positive outlook on life are such fantastic characteristics. reading your positivity+i-love-my-life blogs just make me smile. im so glad God is doing such great things in your life, and that you recognize it’s Him orchestrating it all. keep smiling, tessah! He’s got more to come for you!

    • twebby December 20, 2010 at 9:22 am #

      Thanks for the bday love Leah:) You’re spot on about us having one heck of a conductor when my panicky human nature tries to take over and give me an aneurysm it’s exactly that which I cling to:) Plus, that whole making-other-people-smile is def. the best perk of the job:) Off to post about my holiday week baking plans and decor:) Love you girl:)

Leave a Reply

