Music I Love

19 Feb

After a four hour test (covering everything from the main themes of Charles Dicken’s work to phonological awareness and y=mx+b) and some serious white knuckle driving (we’re talking 30 mph in a 65 due to complete whiteout and seriously slidey conditions), I’m completed spent.  So rather than stretch my feeble excuse for a mind, allow me to share the reason why music is looking up.

Sure, there are lots of great non-pop artists out there… but these rockstars are absolutely representing the messages that our girls today need to hear.  And don’t lie, when you hear ’em in the car ride you’re jammin’ out like me too;)

To be honest, there all songs that I didn’t really dig until I actually listened to the words.  And now I can’t get enough of them.  I hope they all get stuck in your heads.  So there.

First, a new style for Lady Gaga.  One I can really appreciate:)
“There’s nothin’ wrong with lovin’ who you are”
She said, “‘Cause He made you perfect, babe”
“So hold your head up, girl and you you’ll go far,
Listen to me when I say”

I’m beautiful in my way,
‘Cause God makes no mistakes
I’m on the right track, baby
I was born this way”…

…Even more amazing?  What she’s inspiring:

And then there’s P!nk’s ‘Perfect’… (Heads up – even this clean version is disturbing:/ – as is reality)

“Pretty pretty please, don’t you ever ever feel
Like you’re less than f*in’ perfect
Pretty pretty please, if you ever ever feel like you’re nothing
You’re f*in’ perfect to me!”

Hear that loud and clear little ones.

And finally, Katy Perry’s ‘Firework’:

“You don’t have to feel like a waste of space
You’re original, cannot be replaced
If you only knew what the future holds
After a hurricane comes a rainbow”

Mmmm.  I’m loving it. And side note- I really wish I was going into a career field where purple tipped hair like Katy’s was acceptable.  Because I’m pretty sure I was born for it.  True story.

Anyways, hopefully you see where I’m coming from.  I don’t know what made these three women jump on the positive self-image bandwagon but I know we’ll all welcome them with open arms.  If you’re going to be a role model…. might as well be loving on those who need it most!  (All of us).

Takeaway: He made you perfect, babe.

3 Responses to “Music I Love”

  1. Traci February 19, 2011 at 11:52 pm #

    So honestly I just downloaded all those songs the other day! I love them!

    I’ve missed your blogs! I was so excited when I got this in an e-mail! :)

  2. Leah February 21, 2011 at 7:50 pm #

    i absolutely LOVE this post! cuz i was thinking the EXACT SAME THING! no lie. i absolutely love all 3 songs that u posted about. fantastic :)

    p.s. i’ve missed ur posts! even amidst my CRAZY busy life right now, i’ve been wondering where they were :)

    • twebby February 21, 2011 at 10:32 pm #

      Love that you’re on the same page with me Leah:) With music and crazy lives;) Plus, it legit warms my heart that I’m missed. So thanks for that:) Xoxo!

Leave a Reply

