Coffee + Chocolate + Cupcakes = Where It’s At

24 Feb

You know what’s always a good idea? Making cupcakes.  Life lesson – learn it now young’ns.

And even better?  Crankin’ it up a notch with coffee.  In your cupcakes. Bonus points.

Oh yes, and chocolate. But that’s a given, right? Right.

And without further adieu, may I present to you, mocha cupcakes!!

OK – just a bit more further adieu.  Please note that the cupcakes themselves, while outrageously delectable don’t carry much of the coffee flavor.  In fact, you can top them with a different frosting and just have yourself a double chocolate cupcake for those [clinically insane] non-coffee-drinkers in your life.

Mocha Cupcakes

makes about 24 large cupcakes

adapted from MyBakingAddiction

Ingredients:

  • 2-2/3 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2/3 cup unsweetened cocoa powder (I heart Hershey’s Special Dark)
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 cup whole milk (I’ve been using 1% to keep from buying & wasting whole – works fine!)
  • 1 cup super strong brewed coffee, at room temperature
  • 1 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • 1 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, at room temperature (these cupcakes were delish but a bit dry – next time I intend to substitute oil for half of the butter using 1/2 c. oil and 1/2 c. butter)
  • 1 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 cup firmly packed light brown sugar
  • 2 large eggs, at room temp
  • 1 1/2 cup semi sweet chocolate chips

Directions:

1. Preheat to 350°F. Line cupcake pan with liners.
2. Sift together the dry ingredients*. In a measuring cup, combine the liquids*.
3. In a stand mixer, beat the butter (and oil if you’ve subbed) and sugars together on medium speed until light and fluffy, about 2-3 minutes. Add the eggs and beat until combined. Slowly add the flour mixture, alternating with the coffee mixture, ending with the flour mixture. Stir in chocolate chips.
4. Fill cupcake liners about 2/3 full. Bake for about 17-20 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the center of a cupcake comes out cleanish (if you stab a chocolate chip you might have some residue – seeing the tops and whether they still look wet will be your biggest clue). Let cool before frosting cupcakes and inhaling.

* My friend Stevie is a culinary master.  She helped me whip these up and while I was scratching my brain about remember the list of ingredients to combine (they were listed individually on the original recipe) she stated the obvious. “It’s just the dry together and the wet together.”  Why don’t they just say that! So I did – but please note that in the world of baking dry ingredients don’t usually include sugar (as in this case) and wet doesn’t mean the eggies (again – here).  So there ya go – a tip to make your life easier – more bonus points.

Coffee Frosting

Ingredients:

  • 4 tbsp butter, softened
  • 3 tbsp VERY STRONG cold coffee
  • 1 tsp vanilley
  • 3 cups powdered sugar
  • bit o’ milk

Directions:

Beat the butter, coffee, and vanilla in a stand mixer. Add the powdered sugar and beat until creamy and spreadable, adding a few drops of milk if too dry. Pipe onto the cooled cupcakes.

Top with a chocolate covered espresso bean for best results;)  And maybe a magic wand candle. Just for good measure;)

So I’m pretty sure you don’t need me to give a closer paragraph on this one.  No doubt your mouth is already watering and you’re debating whether you have enough confectioner’s sugar and chocolate chips to make all your dreams come true.

3 Responses to “Coffee + Chocolate + Cupcakes = Where It’s At”

  1. meredith February 24, 2011 at 10:12 am #

    Hi Tessah! Long time (but sporadic) reader, and friend of YOUR friend, Emily Du Mee, here! I am intrigued by these coffee cupcakes, and wondering if adding a starbucks VIA instant coffee to the frosting (in place of cold coffee, and with additional milk) would give it a stronger coffee flavor. I bet adding a VIA to the batter would increase the flavor as well. Will try one or both of these ideas and let you know…

    Also, I have long been meaning to comment on your acne.org posts. Reading those totally convinced me to buy the products, since I’m having a similar problem here, and I’m still loosely following “the regimen” using the face soap (love it) and the treatment (eh… it works, but I dislike how it can easily stain EVERYTHING if I’m not careful). The adult acne thing is completely frustrating, especially if like me, you didn’t have to deal with it as a teen. It came out of no where! But you are not alone!! :)

    Keep up the wonderful blogging!

    • twebby March 15, 2011 at 8:27 am #

      Meredith! So, so, SO happy to hear you’re a reader:) Legit exciting. I think adding instant coffee to the frosting is a most excellent plan! The original recipe called for espresso powder but since I’m grocery-store-challenged I couldn’t find any and subbed in the super-strong coffee. Please let me know how it turns out!!

      Plus, your comment was a key factor in my deciding to leave those darned skin posts up. They’re so … hmmm – humbling!? I actually haven’t tried the soap (thats the one thing I still think my old version works for) – but might now. As for the staining – I haven’t had much trouble in that area – which could be due to a few factors. 1 – I’ve used much harsher chemicals on my face in the past – so most of my towels/pj shirts are so shot maybe I’ve not noticed the new damage. 2 – bc of the aforementioned chemical experiences I’ve learned to be super careful with my freshly slathered-up face – I always put my pjs on before applying the treatment, etc.

      Your comment inspired me to post again check it out – https://twebby.wordpress.com/2011/03/15/skin-latest/

      Xoxo!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Bailey’s Mocha Crunkcakes « Baking Life By The Horns - February 26, 2011

    […] Ok so remember the other day when I convinced you to make Mocha Cupcakes? […]

Leave a Reply

