All Saint Pattied Out

27 Feb

Hello again kittens,

I know, I know – you’re all stunned and amazed at how much I’ve been posting lately.  I am too.  Now, if only I could arrange getting a week off EVERY week!

So before the craziness that is solo week of student teaching begins, I figured I’d get in one more post, and spill my beans about Saint Patty’s day:)  These 2 projects are actually from last year, but consider ’em oldies but goodies, k?  And the most impressive part – I’m AHEAD OF SCHEDULE. Which is legit unprecedented.  I guess you could also call it like 11 months behind, but let’s not go there alroight?

First we have…

Easy Peasy St. Patrick’s Day Wreath

As you can probably tell, this was the first wreath I ever made.  Sooooo, it was pretty straightforward.  But, you know what, it’s still pretty cute and get’ the Irish lovin’ across either way.

So simple it doesn’t even need numbered steps – can you imagine!!!  I just picked up a basic grapevine wreath frame from Michaels and wrapped it up with some gold and green ribbon and sparkly shamrock wiring.  My baby girl Kmitch helped me pump up that pretty wired bow on top too:)  See, easy peasy!!

Not-dry-and-icky Irish Soda Bread

Originally from Allrecipes.com

Perhaps you can tell from the title of this post, I typically don’t care for soda bread.  It just tends to be so freakin’ dry and crumbly… but this one is actually pretty darn delightful.  Plus, no weird ingredients or culinary adventures.

Ingredients

  • 4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 4 tablespoons white sugar
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup margarine, softened
  • 1 cup buttermilk
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 cup butter, melted
  • 1/4 cup buttermilk
  • *Raisins to taste – I used about 2/3 cup)
  • **Green sugar if desired

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (190 degrees C). Lightly grease a large baking sheet.
  2. In a large bowl, mix together flour, sugar, baking soda, baking powder, salt and margarine. Stir in 1 cup of buttermilk and egg. Turn dough out onto a lightly floured surface and knead slightly (knead in raisins if your heart desires). Form dough into a round and place on prepared baking sheet. In a small bowl, combine melted butter with 1/4 cup buttermilk; brush loaf with this mixture. If you’re a sprinkle/color fanatic like some of us sprinkle with green sugar. Use a sharp knife to cut an ‘X’ into the top of the loaf.
  3. Bake in preheated oven for 50 minutes to an hour, or until a toothpick inserted into the center of the loaf comes out clean, about 30 to 50 minutes. You may continue to brush the loaf with the butter mixture while it bakes if you want extra crunch on the crust.

Yeah, the pics are pretty feeble, it was before the days of the Rebel and apparently I had enjoyed a bit too much coffee while I baked (not an unusual phenomenon).  But you can still tell its yummy and perfect for the season right?!  And I made a double batch (as I do) which I proceeded to split into 3 loaves, mostly so I could share them with my favorite little Irish lasses!

And with that… HAPPY SAINT PATRICK’S LADDIES!

Leave a Reply

