Super Smoothie

2 Apr

Jer was wondering what this ‘cup of goo’ was when he saw the photos on his camera.  Let me reassure you before you read any further… this is NOT your ordinary green goop.  In fact, it’s the most delicious and refreshing goop you will ever come across.  And here’s it’s story:

When I get home from school I am all ‘oh-my-gosh-I’ve-got-to-inhale-some-foods-within-the-next-17-seconds-or-I-may-die.’ This usually ends in copious consumption of Cheezits, Spicy Sweet Chili Doritos and Dove Coconut Easter Egg Chocolates.  But since my body’s been going through a bit of mutiny lately I’ve tried to be kinder to it – and recently, in my desperate forage for food this past Tuesday I had a revelation.  Smoothies! Yes, it’s still bone-chillingly cold here in Upstate but screw that, I love me some smoothies (OK and ice cream) year round.

This one is super-de-duper simple and nutritious.  Here’s the lowdown:

1.)Pour frozen juice of choice into ice cube trays (I used Naked’s Green Machine, but V8 Splash, etc., etc. would work swimmingly!) and freeze.

2.)Toss half a tray of cubes into blender with about a cup of juice (I used a can of diced pineapple and it’s juice) and bzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz.

3.)Serve. Topped with whip cream preferably.

Leave a Reply

