Homemade Twix – The Remix (featuring Peanut Butter and/or Nutella = WINNING.)

17 Apr

Back around Christmas-time I made these delish-looking homemade Twix for the first time. And although it pains me greatly, I’m going to shoot you straight… it was an epic fail.  The shortbread was too dry and crumbly, the caramel ripped your teeth out and the chocolate wasn’t even sweet enough to fill that  ‘dessert-shaped’ hole in my tummy.  Not to mention the endless hours of arduous commitment wasted (during the busiest time of year nonetheless!).

But enough whining… all has been rectified!  The pure genius that is Pinterest.com helped me to stumble upon this about-a-million-times-easier version.  Please see also IT’S AMAZING.

Because here’s the thing – these things are *better* than the real thing.  I know that’s a big compliment to give one’s own creation… but I swear, that was quote/unquote what a lovely lady said about my Twix!

These babies utilize simple, delicious and readily available ingredients, thus saving you hours in the kitchen.  We’re talking honey wheat pretzel sticks and those little caramel squares,

Which are complimented by Nutella (or peanut butter – your choice!), chocolate (dark or milk – again, go wild), and sea salt.  Really, with that ingredient list, how could you possibly go wrong?

Personally, I think Nutella should be spread on everything.  Really – the world would be such a happier place.

I feel the same way about peanut butter.  But I suppose those with allergies wouldn’t appreciate my covering the world in the stick stuff, so I’ll refrain.

Obv. by this point in our relationship you all know how I feel about chocolate.  And, yes, everything should DEFINITELY be dipped in it. And then sprinkled with sea salt.  Oooooo baby.

What’s that you say?  You’d like some mouthwatering labels?  Why, of course – I’d love to!

But let me warn you, this recipe is not for germaphobes, carriers of communicable diseases, or those prefer not play with their food.  It requires caramel squishing, pretzel squeezing, chocolate swimming and LOTS of finger licking.  So if you’re lucky enough to mow through one of mine just consider it a little kiss from me:)

I’ll stop blabbing now and let you get to work.  Where work = sticky, delicious, play.

PS – I made a ginormous batch, using 2 bags of caramels and 2 bags of pretzels (with just a few left to snack on!).  Let’s pretend it’s because I’m a generous soul who wants to share my sweets with the world.  K thanks!

Homemade Nutella or Peanut Butter (Or Plain!) Twix Bars

Adapted from Savory Sweet Life
Makes: 40 bars
Ingredients
  • One 14 oz.  bag square caramel candies, cut in half  (I used Milk Maid)
  • One 10 oz. bag 4 inch honey-wheat pretzel sticks like Rold Gold or Trader Joes
  • 2/3 cup Nutella or peanut butter
  • 1 12 oz. bag dark (or milk!) chocolate chips
  • 1 tsp. shortening (optional)
  • optional: sea salt
Instructions
  1. Place caramel halves on a plate in a single layer. Microwave the caramels for 10ish seconds, just until they are pliable but still firm. Squish 3 caramel halves together the long way and then gently press two pretzels towards eachother around the caramel ‘pinching’ the caramel in between the pretzels.  3 halves = a pretty chewy candy bar, stretch out 2 to fit if you prefer lighter on the caramel/have loose teeth;)
  2.  Repeat this with all the pretzels and caramels.
  3.  Spoon the Nutella (or pb) into a sandwich bag and cut the tip off. Pipe a pea sized line of your delish topping of choice on the non-caramel side of the pretzels. Carefully spread the Nutella/pb across the top surface (I used a offset spatula). Try not to eat them yet.  I know it’s hard.
  4.  Melt chocolate chips and shortening in a microwave safe container for 1 minute and stir until smooth. If necessary, microwave for an additional 30 seconds to get the chocolate smooth and a thin enough consistency to effectively coat the bars.
  5. Place your creation on a fork and carefully dip it in the chocolate, covering all sides. Lift the bar from the chocolate and allow any excess chocolate to drip off/ tap fork lightly on the edge of the bowl to assist in this process.
  6. Place bars on a plate or cookie sheet lined with parchment paper.* Place them in the refrigerator for 20 minutes or the freezer for 10 minutes to help harden the chocolate coating.
  7. INHALE.  But not too many, and not in conjunction with Nerds and Starburst jelly beans.  Because that will make your tummy sad.  
*If you prefer your sweets salty like moi… sprinkle some sea salt on ’em after dipping and before the fridge.
**And if you’re obsessive like me, feel free to print this sign to stick up by your creation (lays out all the variations;]).
Best.Call.Ever.
2 Responses to “Homemade Twix – The Remix (featuring Peanut Butter and/or Nutella = WINNING.)”

  1. Wholesome Cook April 17, 2011 at 6:04 pm #

    Wow, love the photo with the arrows! And how simple the recipe is, but I’m not sure we have those pretzel sticks in Australia… :-/ Twix and bounty are my favourites! I’ve recreated the perfect bounty already but never attempted the twix!

    • twebby April 17, 2011 at 9:23 pm #

      Yay! So glad you stopped by and tasted with your eyes Martyna! I bet you could try it with regular pretzels sticks if those are available:) As far as Bounty – I’m sad to say I’ve never heard of ’em – but I tracked the recipe down on your blog and added it to my ‘to try’ list:) Xoxo.

Leave a Reply

