Fresh Strawberry Cuppycakes with Strawberry Buttercream

10 Jul

It’s entirely possible that I’ve been sitting on this recipe for a year.  Uhg, shame on me. It’s just that I’ve spent the past year contemplating the best way to share this heavenly recipe.

Now, don’t get me wrong – I’m not here to brag on myself… but for someone whose pretty dedicated to sticking to recipes *perzactly* (just ask my friends – I get SO much grief for my obsessive compulsive baking tendencies – as seen here: Box of Valentine’s Chocolate Cupcakes ala Hello Cupcake!) this is just ca-razy for moi.

And this recipe, it’s different, quite special actually.  I totally jumped outside the box and pretty much made what sounded good to me at the time, with the ingredients I had on hand.  Radical eh?

Granted, I’d spent hours beforehand searching for a perfect strawberry cupcake recipe with complimentary frosting (sounded reasonable to me?) but *no such luck.*  There was nothing that sounded good and used normal ingredients.  And to waste all of these glorious, in season, local berry beauts – I wouldn’t have it.

The best part?  They turned out picture perfect (well, almost – you’ll see) and positively scrumptious.  With a sweet, yet delicate flavor, bursting with strawberry goodness, they were moist and perfect for any summer picnic or get-together:)  Personally, I didn’t use any food coloring because I was going for that au-naturale kinda result, but feel free to throw in a bit of red or some pink into either the cupcakes or the buttercream

Enough chitter chatter – let’s cut to the chase!

Fresh Strawberry Cupcakes

Makes about 30 cupcakes.
  • 1 (18.5 or 18.25 oz) yellow cake mix
  • 1 cup buttermilk
  • 4 eggs
  • Amount of oil called for on box
  • 2 cups strawberries – finely chopped and well drained (I just hacked ’em up in my chopper for a few seconds)
  • 10 strawberries (for garnish)
  1. Preheat oven to 350 F and line cupcake tins with paper liners (I used primary colored ones from Michael’s:])
  2. Mix all ingredients (except strawberries!) in a large bowl until well blended.  
  3. Beat on medium speed for 3 minutes until fluffy.
  4. Gently fold in strawberries.
  5. Evenly distribute the batter.  I use a spring-loaded ice cream scooper and they’ll be about 3/4 full.
  6. Bake at 350 for about 20 minutes or until inserted toothpick comes out clean.
  7. Let cool *completely* before frosting.

Fresh Strawberry Buttercream

  • 3/4 cup heavy cream (aka. heavy cream… see this post)
  • 1 cup butter, softened
  • 1 cup shortening
  • 8 cups confectioners’ sugar (I just throw in a regular sized bag:))
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 2 tsp. vanilla extract (I use the brown kind – it doesn’t really affect the color of the frosting)
  • 1 1/2 cups fresh strawberries – roughly chopped
  1. Puree the strawberries in a food chopper (or processor).  
  2. Cream butter and shortening (I use a KitchenAid) until light and fluffy and beautiful;)
  3. Add salt, vanilla, pureed strawberries, and whipping cream. Blend on low speed until moistened. Add additional 2 ounces whipping cream if necessary. Beat at high speed until frosting is fluffy and forming lovely peaks (3 minutes or so).
  4. Fill giant freezer ziploc halfway with that delicious stuff and pipe onto cooled cupcakes.  (I’ve written a bit about technique here!)
  5. Garnish with thinly sliced strawberries (and pearls/sprinkles of your fancy) and serve.  
  6. **They should keep shape overnight on cupcakes.  If you need more time –  refrigerate frosting separately and then re-whip for several minutes to fix-up texture (it gets melty-seperatey otherwise) before piping.
Happy Eating!
PS) This post is part of a delicious link-party over at Sweet as Sugar Cookies . My mouth is watering heavily – I suggest you check it out too!
3 Responses to “Fresh Strawberry Cuppycakes with Strawberry Buttercream”

  1. Eliza July 10, 2011 at 1:34 pm #

    Tessah!!!
    These cupcakes are making my mouth water!

  2. Lisa @ Sweet as Sugar Cookies July 10, 2011 at 6:59 pm #

    Your cupcakes look absolutely awesome! I have a sweet treat linky party going on at my blog till tomorrow night and I’d love it if you’d come by and link your cupcakes up. http://sweet-as-sugar-cookies.blogspot.com/2011/07/sweets-for-saturday-25.html

  3. Laura July 12, 2011 at 12:02 pm #

    These look so good! I have always made strawberry frosting with jam, but I have to try this! Thanks for stopping by my blog!

Leave a Reply

